https://jkcvhl.com/~jkcvhlco/index.php/jkcvhl/issue/feed Journal of Kidney Cancer and VHL 2020-06-10T15:40:46+00:00 ​Dr. Ulka Vaishampayan sbryant@codonpublications.com Open Journal Systems <p>Journal of Kidney Cancer and VHL (ISSN: 2203-5826) is indexed in <strong>PubMed</strong>,&nbsp;Emerging Sources Citation Index&nbsp;of <strong>Web of Science</strong>, and the Directory of Open Access Journals (<strong>DOAJ</strong>). Journal is dedicated for the dissemination of research findings in kidney cancer and VHL.</p> https://jkcvhl.com/~jkcvhlco/index.php/jkcvhl/article/view/133 Management of Residual or Recurrent Disease Following Thermal Ablation of Renal Cortical Tumors 2020-06-10T15:40:46+00:00 Justin Loloi jloloi@pennstatehealth.psu.edu W. Bruce Shingleton bshingleton@augusta.edu Stephen Y. Nakada nakada@urology.wisc.edu Ronald J. Zagoria Ron.Zagoria@ucsf.edu Jaime Landman landmanj@uci.edu Benjamin R. Lee brlee@surgery.arizona.edu Surena F. Matin surmatin@mdanderson.org Kamran Ahrar jloloi@pennstatehealth.psu.edu Raymond J. Leveillee rleveillee8@bethesdahealth.edu Jeffrey A. Cadeddu jeffrey.cadeddu@utsouthwestern.edu Jay D. Raman jraman@pennstatehealth.psu.edu <p>Management of residual or recurrent disease following thermal ablation of renal cortical tumors includes surveillance, repeat ablation, or surgical extirpation. We present a multicenter experience with regard to the management of this clinical scenario. Prospectively maintained databases were reviewed to identify 1265 patients who underwent cryoablation (CA) or radiofrequency ablation (RFA) for enhancing renal masses. Disease per-sistence or recurrence was classified into one of the three categories: (i) residual disease in ablation zone; (ii) recurrence in the ipsilateral renal unit; and (iii) metastatic/extra-renal disease. Seventy seven patients (6.1%) had radiographic evidence of disease persistence or recurrence at a median interval of 13.7 months (range, 1–65 months) post-ablation. Distribution of disease included 47 patients with residual disease in ablation zone, 29 with ipsilateral renal unit recurrences (all in ablation zone), and one with metastatic disease. Fourteen patients (18%) elected for surveillance, and the remaining underwent salvage ablation (n = 50), partial nephrectomy (n = 5), or radical nephrectomy (n = 8). Salvage ablation was successful in 38/50 (76%) patients, with 12 failures managed by observation (3), tertiary ablation (6), and radical nephrectomy (3). At a median follow-up of 28 months, the actuarial cancer-specific survival and overall survival in this select cohort of patients was 94.8 and 89.6%, respectively.</p> 2020-06-09T17:01:07+00:00 Copyright (c) 2020 Justin Loloi, Bruce Shingleton, Stephen Nakada, Ronald Zagoria, Jaime Landman, Benjamin Lee, Surena Matin, Raymond Leveillee, Jeffrey Cadeddu, Jay Raman